Corn Fritters

corn fritter

Corn fritters bring me back to my childhood days.  I clearly remember when my Mom would make these special “treats” for lunch [or even better, for dinner!].  She always served the fritters with a generous amount of Maple Syrup!  I mean, seriously, what kid wouldn’t love these?!

They are about as easy as it gets to make and can be eaten for breakfast, lunch, dinner…or for a snack!  Plus, they can be made 1,000 different ways [you’ll see variations of these little fritters in later posts].  

Today, however; I’m making them the way my Mom made them for me.  Super simple, quick and so delicious!  I highly suggest making a batch of these!

fritter3

::Corn Fritters::

Serves: 2          Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients

1 15oz can corn, drained

1 egg

3-4 TBSP flour

1 TBSP butter

Syrup [optional]

Instructions

Drain corn and pour into a medium sized bowl.  Add the egg and 2 TBSP of flour.  Mix well. Continue to add flour until the consistency is fairly thick.  Melt butter in a medium pan over medium heat.  Spoon corn mixture into the heated pan [about the size of small pancakes].  Let them cook for about 1-2 minutes per side.  Serve warm [and with syrup if you’re so inclined]!

fritter5

**I apologize for the horrible pictures; I took these with my iPhone.  I hope to someday have a better camera to capture these food pics!

Leave a Reply

