Birthday Mania & Christmas 2015

I’m back!  I have been on a looong blogging hiatus.  This mama has been so busy, but I’m back & hopefully will find time to post on a more regular basis!

It’s hard to believe that the NEW YEAR is less than 2 days away.  I think back to how wonderful 2015 was and am filled with SO much JOY.  I’m not sure how it’s possible, but I swear, each year gets better & better.  Life is SO good!

We survived birthday mania and Christmas at our house.  December is a big birthday month in our family: my Dad, Dafney, Hubby & my Sister are among the many, many birthdays celebrated in the wonderful [though, not as wonderful as those MAY birthdays ;)] month of December!  So, to say we’ve been celebrating all month long, would be a HUGE understatement!

Obviously the birthday that gets the most hype in December is our sweet, little Dafney.  Can you believe that she is FOUR?  Say what?!  Her birthday is so special to me and it’s a day that I often find myself reflecting not only on the day she was born, but looking back at the wonderful, funny, sweet, sensitive, loving little girl she has become.  Her smile melts my heart and her caring & nurturing character is just about the sweetest!

d4

We had fun celebrating her birthday and I think she did, too 🙂  We had the BEST friend birthday party at the Rainbow Swing Set Superstore near our house.  MN friends, it was seriously so much fun and they were so easy to work with.  I give it TWO thumbs up and highly recommend this place for your party needs!

partygoers

We kept things simple [& child friendly] and had pizza delivered and of course CAKE…duh!  The kids had a blast running around and playing on all the swing sets, while the adults mingled.  I call it a win-win.

On Dafney’s actual birthday, we kept it low-key.  My parents & sister/brother-in-law came over for burgers, cake and gifts.  It was the perfect way to spend our sweet girl’s special day!

The one bummer about having a birthday so close to Christmas is you start to get presented-out.  I think after a birthday party and gifts from us & family, she was starting to get a wee-bit overwhelmed.  But, as they say, “Christmas must go on”…er, something to that affect!

We don’t tend to do much on Christmas Eve which is actually really nice.  We do have 2 traditions, though.  The first is we always make food for Santa’s reindeer and put it out in the yard for them to eat when the visit our house.

reindeer food

The second, is that we drive around the neighborhood & nearby neighborhoods to look at all the fun Christmas lights that people have up. This year, both kids fell asleep while we were out, but Hubby & I enjoyed looking at the lights 😉

Christmas morning is spent at our house with the kids opening our gifts.  It’s super relaxing and very low-key!  And, to see a child’s face on Christmas morning when they see that “Santa” has come to our house is priceless.  Obviously, Hendrix didn’t understand this year, but this was the first year that I really think Dafney “got it”.  She talked about Santa coming to our house and told us what she wanted him to bring her!

xmas1

Santa brought her some “clip dolls” [princess dolls] and this Frozen dress!  She is a princess at heart!

After we ate breakfast & opened gifts, we headed to my parents house to spend the day with them and my sister & her Hubby.  It follows suit and is SUPER low key.  We have some appetizers, gifts and an amazing Crab Leg dinner!  Such a special day spent with some of my favorites!

xmas2

Next up…NEW YEARS!  Excited to ring in the New Year with my family.  Wishing everyone a wonderful, safe & HEALTHY New Year!  Catch you in 2016 🙂

xoxo

Bake at Home Mama

 

Leave a Reply

