The Big Easy

A couple of weeks ago, I think I officially became an adult.  A real adult.  I had a work trip to the Big Easy and not only did I take my first work trip, I navigated the airport myself, and even flew myself…say what?  Yes, that sounds ridiculous, but it’s true.  I’m sort of a “nervous nelly” to start with, but flying without my family {or at least without my hubby} caused me so much stress it was silly.  But, I put on my big girl pants and headed to New Orleans.

I should probably say that I did head there with one of my co-workers, so I truly wasn’t alone.  I know, I’m a wimp.  Our flight was a bit delayed, but we managed to get into town and check in to our hotel by about 6:45pm.  After we were semi-settled into our perspective rooms, we headed to none other than, Bourbon Street.

IMG_6552

Bourbon street was like no other place I’d ever been.  It was packed with people.  The streets were filled with laughter, music & lots of drinking.  And, I think this place has the BEST people watching.  Seriously.

IMG_6566

Our first mission was to find the infamous Pat O’Brien’s.  It took us a while, but we found it and I instantly fell in love with their Hurricane 🙂  After drinking one of those, we set out to find something to eat.  By that point we were so hungry, we chose …LeBayou restaurant!

IMG_6559

…we ate & drank 🙂

IMG_6562

Oh…and meet my friend/coworker, Karen!

IMG_6561

After dinner, we wandered {somewhat} aimlessly around Bourbon Street and just took it all in.  By about 10:45, we were ready to head back to the Hotel so we could get a decent start in the morning.

Sunday morning we hit up the ever-so-famous Beignet eatery, Cafe Du Monde.

IMG_6598

Here’s the thing about Beignet’s…they’re basically just glorified donuts with about a pound of powdered sugar on them.  Nothing overly exciting.  But, we had heard from many that this was THE Beignet place so we had to check it out!

IMG_6599 IMG_6600 IMG_6601 IMG_6602

After we did the typical tourist-thing and set out to see the sights and do some shopping, DUH!

IMG_6585

IMG_6587

IMG_6608

IMG_6610

IMG_6590

IMG_6592

IMG_6615

There is no doubt New Orleans is a fun town, but after a full day of sightseeing {keeping in mind we didn’t go far from Bourbon Street & The French Quarter} I was satisfied that I saw all that the area had to offer.  Sunday night we called it an early night as we knew that Monday & Tuesday would be busy with Conference stuff.

I had a great time and am SO glad I got to experience New Orleans, but was I ever happy to get home to see my family!

Leave a Reply

